Friday, February 08, 2008

Reagan Day in Maine!

Thanks to the great efforts of Mary Adams in the great state of Maine, President Reagan's birthday was celebrated in style (jelly beans included!) at the State House in Augusta. Despite heavy snow, dozens gathered for a press conference to celebrate the life and legacy of one of our nation's greatest presidents. It was truly a wonderful event and we hope several states will emulate this in the future! Thank you Mary for inviting the RRLP to celebrate Reagan Day in Maine!

Below are photos of the event. Check out for additional pictures from the press conference!

Mary Adams, Maine center-right coalition leader and taxpayer activist

Dozens of legislators and friends gathered to celebrate Reagan Day-despite the weather!

Rep. Bob Crossthwaite entertained the crowd with Reagan quotes

Senate minority leader Westin speaks to the crowd

RRLP Executive Director Karri Bragg addresses the crowd to close the event

Reporters were on-hand as well!

Wednesday, February 06, 2008

Happy Birthday Ronald Reagan!

In honor of President Reagan's birthday, the Ronald Reagan Legacy Project asked that governors in all 50 states enact proclamations declaring February 6th "Reagan Day" in their respective states. Below is a list of governors who enacted proclamations, those who didn't, and a list of stragglers who will hopefully sign their name to a proclamation in coming days!

Today, remember what Reagan Day is all about- honoring the spirit and legacy of an amazing American, whose leadership and strength brought about peace and democracy throughout the world.


30 Governors Recognized Reagan Day as of February 5, 2008

Governors Who Have Issued a Proclamation:

30 governors, 17 Republican (57%), 13 Democrat (43%)

Robert Riley (R – AL)

Sarah Palin (R – AK)

Arnold Schwarzenegger (R – CA)

Bill Owens (D– CO)

M. Jodi Rell (R – CT)

Sonny Perdue (R – GA)

Chet Culver (D – IA)

Butch Otter (R – ID)

Rod Blagojevich (D – IL)

*Mitch Daniels (R – IN)

John Baldacci (D – ME)

Timothy Pawlenty (R – MN)

Haley Barbour (R – MS)

Matt Blunt (R – MO)

David Heineman (R – NE)

John Lynch (D – NH)

Jim Gibbons (R – NV)

Bill Richardson (D – NM)

Eliot Spitzer (D – NY)

John Hoeven (R – ND)

*Brad Henry (D – OK)

Theodore Kulongoski (D – OR)

Don Carcieri (R – RI)

Mark Sanford (R – SC)

Mike Rounds (R – SD)

Phil Bredesen (D – TN)

James Douglas (R – VT)

Christine Gregoire (D – WA)

Joe Manchin, III (D-WV)

David Freudenthal (D – WY)

*Denotes a verbal confirmation of the proclamation.

Governors Who Did Not Issue a Proclamation:

20 governors, 1 Republican (5%), 14 Democrat (70%), 5 No Response at this time (25%)

Janet Napolitano (D – AZ)

Mike Beebe (D – AR)

*Ruth Ann Minner (D – DE)

*Charlie Crist (R – FL)

*Linda Lingle (R – HI)

Kathleen Sebelius (D – KS)

Martin O’Malley (D – MD)

Deval Patrick (D – MA)

Steve Beshear (D – KY)

*Bobby Jindal (R –LA)

Jennifer Granholm (D – MI)

Brian Schweitzer (D – MT)

Mike Easley (D – NC)

Jon Corzine (D – NJ)

Ted Strickland (D – OH)

Ed Rendell (D – PA)

Tim Kaine (D – VA)

Jim Doyle (D-WI)

*Rick Perry (R-TX)

Jon Huntsman, Jr. (R – UT)

*Denotes no response at this time.

Contact governor’s offices today and urge them to declare February 6th, Reagan Day:

Office of Gov. Minner (DE)

Constituent Services


Office of Gov. Crist (FL)

Contact: Sherry


Office of Gov. Lingle (HI)

Constituent Services


Office of Gov. Jindal (LA)

Constituent Services, (225) 342-0991

Office of Gov. Rick Perry

Contact: Cynthia